Australia's Golden Outback Holiday Planner 2022/23
coolgardie Shire of
Kambalda 651km north of Perth
Visit Australia’s first nickel township first established in 1897 as a gold mining town during the gold rush frenzy but it was virtually deserted by 1908. The town came alive again during the 1960s with the discovery of one of the world’s largest nickel sulphide deposits and the opening of Australia’s Golden Outback’s first nickel mine known as St Ives Places of interest Kambalda Memorial Garden A memorial dedicated to the men who lost their lives whilst working on mines around Kambalda, as well as the hundreds of men who died from illnesses attributed to mining. The garden features a shady gazebo surrounded by native plants and roses. Red Hill Lookout Visit Red Hill which overlooks Lake Lefroy and active mining operations. The bush trails take you around the hill, showcasing some mining history and rare flora and fauna. Red Hill Pioneer Cemetery Here you will find only a handful of graves of the early pioneers of Kambalda that give a glimpse into the early history of the town. Nullarbor Links Play the par 4, Silver Lake, 16th hole of the world’s longest golf course.
Warden Finnerty’s Residence
coolgardie 557km north of Perth
Building (built 1898). Each room features fascinating displays of the dramatic and often tragic stories of life in and around Coolgardie during the gold rush days. Here you will also find the Varischetti mine rescue story, the famous Waghorn bottle collection and an extensive pharmacy display. Warden Finnerty’s Residence This beautiful old house was built of local stone in 1895, for Coolgardie’s first Mining Warden and Resident Magistrate, John Michael Finnerty. During a visit here, walk through the rooms containing lovely antique furnishings and chinaware which capture the feeling of life in the late 1890s. Enjoy a Devonshire Tea from the verandah overlooking the Coolgardie townsite. Varischetti Rescue Site Visit the site of the fascinating rescue of Modesto Varischetti who, in 1907, was trapped in a flooded underground mine for nine days.
Known as the “Mother of the Goldfields” Coolgardie was founded by the discovery of gold in 1892. The name Coolgardie is said to be derived from the Aboriginal word Coolcaby or Kurl-Kurti, which refers to the mulga trees around the Gnamma (waterhole). At the height of the goldrush, Coolgardie was the third largest town in Western Australia and serviced a population of 25,000. Places of interest showcasing historical mining equipment, farm tools and other interesting items of days gone by. With gazebos and a nature playground this family friendly park has something for everyone. Lions Lookout Take in the view Bayley and Ford first saw in 1892 as they rode from Gnarlbine Soak, looking over the area they first found gold – which they called Fly Flat. Historic Cemeteries Much of Coolgardie’s history can be read on the headstones of the Pioneer Cemetery and Coolgardie Cemetery. Sadly, when typhoid hit in the early gold rush days, many people died without their identity being recorded. Ben Prior’s Park An intriguing open-air museum
Lake Lefroy, Kambalda
Coolgardie Visitor Centre 62 Bayley St (Warden’s Court Building), Coolgardie WA 6429 T : (08) 9026 6090 E : email@example.com Visit coolgardie.wa.gov.au
Goldfields Exhibition Museum Housed in the historic Warden’s Court
Made with FlippingBook Annual report maker