Australia's Golden Outback Holiday Planner 2022/23

CUe Shire of Post Office at night

Aboriginal rock art at Walga Rock

Cue 649km north of Perth

Masonic Lodge Built in 1899 the Lodge is said to be the biggest free-standing, double-storey corrugated iron construction in the southern hemisphere. Great Fingall Mine Another truly magnificent example of the buildings of this period. Herbert Hoover, President of the USA, worked in this building. Big Bell The ghost town of Big Bell, situated approximately 30km north-west of town, was gazetted in 1936 and soon after became the terminus of a spur line from the main railway in Cue.

longest bar in Australia and the remains of this once impressive structure are still standing. You can view more at UPCOMING EVENTS For a list of events, dates and times visit

Known as ‘Queen of the Murchison’ because of its importance in the gold production of the area, Cue once boasted a population of around 10,000. As legend has it, Cue came about thanks to a gold find by prospector Mick Fitzgerald who was led to a quartz hill bearing gold in Cue’s centre on New Year’s Day in 1892. Expect a mix of charming 19th- century gold rush era buildings to 10,000 year old Aboriginal rock art. PLACES OF INTEREST Aboriginal Art - Walga Rock A huge granite monolith known as Walga Rock, situated 48km west of Cue, is a site of deep Aboriginal cultural and spiritual significance.

Cue Community and Visitor Centre 72 Austin Street Cue WA 6640

T: (08) 9963 1198 E:

The town was deserted by the mid- 1950s. The hotel reputedly had the

Located 15km from Cue, 3km off Great Northern Hwy on Cogla Downs-Taincrow Rd, Reedy WA 6640 T: Cath 0498 747 422 or text/leave verbal message • Remote exclusive eco-friendly camping bush sites Please note the bush sites require a 4WD vehicle and must be self-sufficient • Enjoy bird watching or self-guided station tours • Open all year Nallan Station Stay, Cue Cath, Dave & family welcome guests to experience a historic working station, situated along the Miners’ Pathway & close to Cue’s historic and natural attractions. A choice of accommodation is available including: • Recently renovated Shearers’ Quarters with 6 rooms • 2 bedroom self-contained cottage (sleeps 6) • Homestead caravan / camp sites are unpowered lawn sites with undercover BBQ area and fire pit

Cue Heritage Discovery Centre Learn about Cue’s history. The Cue Historical Photograph Collection

View the collection of historical photos on display in the Cue Shire Administration Building, built in 1895 and which was once the Gentlemen’s Club. Government Buildings Built between 1895 and 1897 from locally quarried limestone.

E: | The Gascoyne Murchison | 97

Made with FlippingBook Annual report maker